How to use react?

Now, after learning react, how can i use it locally?The lesson about react talked about a transpiler called babel, but how to implement this transpiler, and should i create an html file then write jsx inside a <script> tag and that’s it, please if somebody can explain thanks

You can refer to the online documentation on how to get started and see what’s best work for you.

Alternatively, you can use create-react-app and set up a modern local environment with all you need for starter.

Hope it helps :sparkles:

1 Like

Yeah, create-react-app is the way to go when starting, I think, so you can worry about coding and not setting up and webpack, etc. Just follow the simple instructions and have a working app template in a few minutes.

1 Like

As an absolute beginner i find that confusing, when i see tutorials talking about using npm, node, etc …, to set up the environment for react and i am still a newbie trying to learn front-end first…

I find the react documentation to be pretty helpful.

It sounds like maybe you are nervous about working with the command line.
Is that true?

1 Like

It’s just that i didn’t go through back-end technologies yet, and when i see those tutorials include those technologies, i feel unfamiliar and confused…

Yeah, it’s a lot.

Yeah, node is a backend thing, but we can also use it as environment for frontend development. You use create-react-app in a node environment and then build the files you need for a frontend.

So yes, you will need to have node set up on your computer (if it isn’t already). I would look for videos on these subjects. There are people that will walk you through setting up node (or follow the instructions on the node site) and through setting up your first CRA app. And if you haven’t done any local/node dev before that might be worthwhile to see all the cool things like import/export you can do now.

2 Likes