I got a job: From English Teacher to Front End Dev

I have landed my first full time front end developer job!

Yikes! This is a long one!

The Role

Expand

Working on a range of front end projects for a number of existing clients. My first project has been on working on a Craft CMS powered marketing site we have inherited from a design company. I’m also involved in the React front end of some extremely cool AI / ML products.

Hours are reasonably flexible, with the option to work from home a couple of days a week (which I will start doing next week)

My Background

Expand

Tertiary qualifications: BA English Literature, MA Teaching.

Professional experience: 10 years teaching, 2.5 years stay at home Dad.

No Bootcamps etc

I’ve been a hobbyist code tinkerer for about 10 years. I started with HTML and a smattering of CSS. Later I got into Python, with many false starts (took a while too really understand loops, tbh). Managed to solve about 25 project Euler problems and build a couple of tools to automate teaching related things, such as a tool that parsed Excel data and spat out semester reports for me, and one that scraped the CMS we used to host documents when we needed to switch and there was no useful bulk export feature baked in.

I played around with some WAMP stack web dev stuff too, but never finished a project in it.

I also tinkered with Ruby on Rails and Java, but again…nothing productive.

The Free Code Camp Era

Expand

I was just getting ready to deep dive on Java a couple of years ago when I read an Ask Metafilter answer in which someone mentioned freeCodeCamp.

I logged on and cranked out the HTML and CSS sections on my phone late at night and was hooked. The JS section took a little longer, and some of the intermediate algorithms stumped me for ages.

Getting involved heavily in the forum was a massive motivator, and when I used to help people all day everyday (Stay at home Dad life is sweet!) my own understanding rocketed.