I just completed 3 months in my new job as a Software Engineer: Thank you freeCodeCamp

Woohoo!

I finally joined the legendary group that made it from programming novice to getting a job :slightly_smiling_face:

Having read numerous Got a Developer Job posts that encouraged me to keep coding, I feel the need to encourage someone else.

Here’s a summary of my path:

BACKGROUND
My journey began in 2013 when I took a programming course on edX and built one or two games with Python.
I also took courses on HTML, CSS and JavaScript on Codecademy.

I landed a software internship job and did that for 6 months in 2014/2015.
I have always thought coding is too hard and not meant for me - I quit coding after the internship.
Building websites with WordPress was simpler and I took that seriously, making a small business out of it.

On completing university at the end of 2015, I worked as a Marketer and freelance WordPress developer.
Back in school, I had this dream of building a great tech company. It slowly dawned on me that I needed more than Wordpress skills to build a tech company.

I decided to face my fear of coding and started freeCodeCamp (FCC) in November 2016.

I quit FCC early 2017 because I faced a challenge that was too hard for me - The Simon Game :disappointed:

I then went on to study the You Don’t Know JavaScript (YDKJS) books, took some front-end courses on Udacity and built some personal web applications. I had now gained some confidence and went back to complete the Simon Game, thus earning my Front-end Certificate.

I moved to FCC’s Back-end track and was fortunate to be part of Chingu.

My first project on Chingu was to lead a team of Front-end developers to build a full-stack application.
I had just earned my front-end Certificate and knew little or nothing about the back-end.
My team and I were confused a lot, we persevered, we worked hard and by refusing to give up we eventually built the app.