Got my first software developer job at 33 - here’s my story

Hello

I’ve just recently accepted my first software developer role following teaching myself to code using freecodecamp and so I’ve detailed my experience and thoughts for others in case it might be helpful for anyone looking to change careers and get started. I’ve wrote a fair bit about my background and my experience but feel free to skip towards the end for some of my thoughts for the community.

Background

I have been working as a part-qualified actuary for over 10 years. Actuarial science basically involves analysing and managing risk for corporations, comparing assets and liabilities using large excel spreadsheets. I’d never decided on this as a career as such but rather fell into it. I progressed well and became a manager over that time however I didn’t have the pull for the job that others around me did. I earned well and had good benefits but I didn’t have job satisfaction in my role.

I randomly came across an advert one day for a 12-week coding bootcamp in London. I was interested in coding although I had little experience with it and when I inquisitively looked at the site I baulked at the price. I fancied giving coding a go though, it looked like something I’d want to do so I initially picked up a Ruby course on CodeAcademy (Ruby because I searched indeed for jobs in my area and Ruby came out pretty high). It was a good start and I progressed to some other modules but I felt that I wasn’t getting anywhere with it, I didn’t have anything to show form my learning. I’d finish a module but where then? Looking for something more I stumbled upon freecodecamp which was exactly what I needed – that sense of direction given with a curriculum. I felt that I’d learn much more from this guided path.