I need advice as a Rookie in programming

I am a Rookie in Programming, i actually studied Information and Communication Science from the university, but the way i was the courses were taken, so i decided to major in Digital marketing which is my current field, though i’m a Nigerian, cos my interest in Programming was watered down being my main aim of seeking admission to the higher institution.

But, what advice will you give me on how to start and not just relying on frameworks or open source codes. i want to really know all programming Paradigms such as OOP, Algorithms, Design Patterns and how to write pseudocodes for myself.

If you’re worried about relying too much on frameworks and libraries, then you can always choose not to use them. For studying the more conceptual aspects of programming, my main advice is to resist the temptation to flit around like a butterfly. Find a book or video series or course that you like and then follow it all the way through.

2 Likes

If you’re just starting, I do recommend you bounce around different technologies, but spend at least two weeks on one thing before moving on to another. When you find one you like, stick with it for a while and write a few projects in it. Since you’re posting here in FCC, I assume your interests are similar to the curriculum (that is, web technologies), so I suggest you study at least one of React, Angular, or Vue.js, which are all in high demand.

Functional Programming has also finally gone mainstream, so I really recommend you pick that up too. Elm and Purescript are both great gateways to that style, but you can learn it with plain Javascript too: Immutable.js is a good start there.

Hope these pointers help, but in the end, it’s all going to come down to what you enjoy programming with, and you’ll never know that until you’ve tried at least a few different things yourself.