I'm a beginner - what software should I use to type javascript into?

Hi, I can’t find somewhere (or software) I can use to try the coding skills that I’m learning in the javascript course. The course itself has a place to write code for each question (right pane), and in the bottom right is another pane where I can see the results by typing console.log(). I’ve tried to find some free software where I can try coding things in javascript, using the content from lessons, but can’t find something with the console panel so I can see the results of what I have tried to code. I’ve installed the free versions of RJ TextEd and Visual Studio Code (VSC), but can’t see the results of what I have coded, to see if the code works. VSC has a panel you can pull up that says “console” but it doesn’t show results of what I’ve coded when I return using console.log(). I’ve tried using the exact same code that has worked in answering the questions in freecodecamp course within the two software suites I’ve named above, but it doesn’t show if the code works.

Something simple like the page to answer each question on freecodecamp is all I’m looking for so I have somewhere I can practice.

I can’t think of a single text editor program that offers the kind of feature that you’re describing. VS Code is a great editor and I’d recommend using it to type & save your code, but if you’re looking for a more interactive tool, there are a few different options:

• Online environments: JSFiddle (https://jsfiddle.net/), JSBin (https://jsbin.com/), or Repl.it (https://repl.it/)

• Your Web browser (whether that’s Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or something else) has a Dev Tools area where you can bring up the browser console and type in JavaScript code. The keyboard key for opening the console is F12 in Chrome and Firefox (no idea about Safari).

• Install Node.js on your computer: https://nodejs.org/en/download/ You can use Node.js to run any programs that you write.

3 Likes