I'm struggling to find my first role as a Jr front end

Hi there,

I’m Sebastian and I’m from London,UK.

I started learning web development almost 2 years ago and since then I struggle a lot to find any company that would give me the chance to work with them.

I’m feeling frustrated as I always hear stories about how people landed their dream job within 1 year and I feel like a failure. I don’t know what to do anymore, to appear a good fit for a Jr front-end role and I would really appreciate any feedback/tips on what to do to get an opportunity.

This is my online portfolio : www.sebastianmariani.com

Please feel free to give me feedback on the portfolio :slight_smile:

Thanks a lot!

People love to push these stories, but personally I think they create unrealistic goals. You are competing for jobs with graduates of 4 yr universities. You need to show that you have equivalent knowledge to what they learned over 4 years, and that is hard to do in 1 yr of self study.

3 Likes

I’m feeling frustrated as I always hear stories about how people landed their dream job

First of all, everyone has a different story. And different places have different job markets, needs, and expectations.

I guess I landed my “dream job”, only in the sense that my dream was to get any job. But it took me closer to 2 years. #ymmv

But in any case, getting the first job is insanely difficult, no matter where you are. The people that get them are the ones that work hard, learn as much as they can, build projects, and keep building more complex projects, keep learning, polish up their resume, etc, and don’t give up.

At the risk of more shameless self-promotion, I once wrote a doc with my thoughts/advice on getting a first job.

3 Likes

To add to this,