0 to Frontend Developer (8 to 9 months)

Hello all,

I wanted to share my experience going from 0 to Junior Frontend developer (excuse me if my English is not great, I’m from Spain).

I started here in FreeCodeCamp, it was the first resource that I found and the first that made me consider that it was actually possible to learn a thing or two about coding and making websites by myself, I’ve always believed in being self-taught, not so much about others actually taking me serious when looking for a job though. After doing part of the Frontend certificate I quickly moved on to other resources to complement my learning. At first just using CodeCademy and FreeCodeCamp, building a lot of little apps of whatever came to mind, I was hooked, I found what I wanted to do in life being 30.

After a while I bought some books, then I started using Udacity, then Treehouse and I just kept on going on a kind of structured path (but also a bit chaotic).

About 6 to 7 months in I started building my portfolio, and when I was happy with it I started looking at what was out there. When I found an offer that I liked, I would not send my CV, simply a well wrote e-mail and a link to my portfolio, I was always honest about me being self-taught and about my Junior level.