How I changed career from school teacher to Front-end Dev in less than 7 months

Hello to anyone reading this. Last year, I successfully changed careers, from teaching to being a junior front-end developer, in what I think is a relatively short time (6-7 months).
When I decided to change career path, I did quite a lot of research, wanting to know how I could make it happen. Now that I’ve found myself working full-time as a dev, I would like to share my experiences in the hope that others may benefit.

Reason for choosing coding

Last year I was a teacher and doing well in the profession. However, I didn’t want to do it forever and found myself getting frustrated with the working hours. I had always been intrigued by coding and after discovering FreeCodeCamp, started to teach myself some basic HTML and CSS. After a few weeks I realised I was hooked and my mind made up. Despite having close to zero experience and no knowledge on the subject I was going to leave teaching to become a front-end developer!

When I broke the news, my family were concerned and my friends bemused. There was a sense that I was throwing away my livelihood and that after a few months of being unemployed, I would come crawling back.
Obviously, I wanted to prove them all wrong but I needed to have a plan so that I didn’t sound clueless whenever I was asked to why I’d left a decent career.
I needed to strategise.
I dabbled with taking a bootcamp and looked at some Udemy courses, but instead focused almost entirely on the FreeCodeCamp website. The reason I stuck with FreeCodeCamp is because I recognised early on that it has a thorough curriculum which underpins so many principles of Front-end development. If you can achieve all the end-of-unit challenges, independently, then you are in a great place to progress onto documentation, Udemy courses or YouTube videos to expand your knowledge.