Interview/Screening Questions

Hello Campers!
I’ve recently started applying for jobs , 80 applications and counting! I have had one formal interview and 3 phone interviews/informal chat but no luck yet. That isn’t bothering at the moment because I know it’s a numbers game and just have to keep applying.

What’s bothering me is I sometimes get questions that I struggle to answer or difficult to twist into a positive answer. For example, I get asked whether I have experience in a particular CMS or a framework or a specific tool and my reply has always been “no, I don’t but I’m sure it wouldn’t take me long to adapt to it and get my head round it seeing that I’ve self taught myself and built xyz projects” – is this a reasonable answer?

Also, just ranting here… are we still in the age of ‘give three keywords that highlight your skills’, or “what three words describe you” – I mean anyone can say anything. How much value do these pointless questions hold? *sigh …

Have a lovely day

Yes.

What’s bothering me is I sometimes get questions that I struggle to answer or difficult to twist into a positive answer.

Sometimes it’s more about the attitude.

For example, I get asked whether I have experience in a particular CMS or a framework or a specific tool and my reply has always been “no, I don’t but I’m sure it wouldn’t take me long to adapt to it and get my head round it seeing that I’ve self taught myself and built xyz projects” – is this a reasonable answer?