Is a macbook pro a bad tool for web development?

I’ve been thinking about getting a macbook pro for coding as it would be very handy with the long battery life and being very thin and easy to carry when I travel. What are your opinions on this subject? I’m currently focusing on web development, but would like to possibly get into making iOS apps in the future (that probably gives me my answer right there haha). Is there anything as far as web development that can’t be done on a mac?

I have been trying coding for about a month and do everything on an acer 11 chromebook. I’m not a hardware expert but I know I’m lacking in cpu power. I’ve been looking at the mac book pro from afar. But honestly for where I’m at it doesn’t matter. Eventually, I will want to learn how install and run things locally in my own IDE. Between codepen and cloud 9 I have been able to at least dabble in things like php node and git. From what I’ve seen as far as higher end people, it has been a lot of macs. I m gonna keep my eye on this thread…I had asked something similar a while ago and got answers all over the spectrum, because at a certain point its personal preference.

If you want to create Microsoft .NET applications, or manage Microsoft SQL Servers/databases…

Oh wait… you can install Parallels VM on your Mac and load Windows 10 and do it from there… never mind.

2 Likes

microsoft windows is the el capitan of computer operating systems?? that looks way cooler than my desktop i want a mac

I would give used Apple macbook pro’s a shoutout if you are tight on budget! Also check their certified refurbished section, Apple does rigorous testing for all their refurbished items and gives 1 year warranty, just like a new product. You can nab a good deal, especially if you are looking at last generation (without the touchbar) options.

2 Likes

Now that’s pretty darn cool. Thank you! I don’t think there’s any reason not to go with a mac after all :D.