Is Christmas a reasonable deadline for looking for jobs as front end web dev?

Hey,
I’m currently almost at the end of basic Javascript part of FCC. I’m also doing Colt’s Udemy course (finishing basic JS there as well). I have some knowledge of Python and Django, and the programming language R (I’m more of a data analysis kind of gal). I have made few static websites using Bootstrap. I’ve been coding for about 2 years now, but there have been huge gaps in between. So whatever I learned 2 years ago, I basically had to re-learn again. This most recent stretch of learning to code has been going on for about 3 months.

I’m currently on maternity leave, due to return to work by Christmas. And I will have to go back, unless I can make WebDev work. I don’t expect huge income, my daily job does not earn that much either, but I would need to be able to earn something if I decide not to go back. And once I do, chances are coding will have to be put aside because there just won’t be enough time.

Do you think it’s possible? Obviously no one can tell if I will be able to find a job, but I’m hoping if I manage to finish the front end FCC work and up to Backend basics on Colt’s course by the end of summer, I could spend 3 months looking for work or working on my own projects (I already have a list :slight_smile:). I just need someone to tell me realistically if this is doable/likely or if I’m being naive.
Thanks.

1 Like

Congrats on the little one! :slight_smile: