Is freeCodeCamp a good path for aspiring Game Engineers?

Hello all! I’m new here.

I have a Game Development degree that touched on a moderate amount of coding but probably not enough to get a good game programming job. I was wondering if freeCodeCamp would be a good use of my time to help reach my goal of being a Game Engineer. I work on games in my spare time (primarily in Unity), but would really like to improve my programming skills to the point of getting a position in the industry. Any advice?

Thanks!

No. FCC focus is on web development, using HTML, CSS, JS and other related technologies.

mdn has a good introduction to game programming with javascript for the web

freecodecamp is a good path for learning javascript and understanding many fundamental programming concepts and principles - what you’ll learn as with any first general programming language will be useful across the board in development including game programming

2 Likes

I think your time will be better spent here.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies!

That’s pretty much the general vibe I was getting. I have a decent understanding of coding fundamentals and am looking for a similarly structured learning environment for more advanced concepts. I definitely frequent Unity’s website as well.

I don’t know too much about the backend side of both web and game development. Are they similar? And might I have something to gain from going through the Back End module?

Our back-end section focusing on the MEAN stack, so you would have to be comfortable with the front-end first. I’m not sure Node.js is heavily used in gaming applications.

1 Like

what did your game development degree cover? and how long was it?

if you’re career-oriented I suggest doing job searches like “game programmer jobs” “game programmer intern” in major us hubs like san francisco bay area, nyc, los angeles