Is it really worth it?

So I’m trying out coding… Again. I’m 34yo and when I graduated HS I understood Java, MyQSL, HTML, CSS, and PHP. I was learning Javascript. Then real life smacked me upside the head and now, 17 years and about $65k in student debt later, I have no degree, no job (disabled as of a few years ago), and no hardware but the phone I’m typing this on.

I’ve wanted to be a system developer since HS. It’s the closest thing I’ve ever had to a “dream” (to work for google or the like) and it fits my personality type like a glove. I keep trying. And failing.

So here I am trying again. I just finished the Cat Photo App tutorial. It took several hours for what rightfully should have been maybe 30min of work. Doing this on my phone is slow and tedious.

So the question, after all the complaining, is: is it really worth it? Are there actually opportunities out there for someone like me? Should I even bother?

Life has taught me that trying to do this on my own only leads to a depressive spiral that does more harm than good, so that opens another question: how do you find people in similar positions? I very rarely leave my house (never much reason to), and I’ve never been a very social person.

They say you have to have passion, talent, and networking (human not IT lol) skills to make it in this industry. I don’t know if I have any of those.

So, TL;DR - Is it even worth it to try when all you have is a phone and a wall to bang your head on?

2 Likes

Doing software development on a phone is unpleasant and difficult, in my experience.

There are jobs out there for self taught developers. I can’t say if it is worth the work for you personally since I am not you.

Get a laptop or computer if you can. Maybe a friend or family member has a spare computer or even a tablet kicking around that you can borrow for a bit. Check online marketplaces like Facebook, Kijiji etc for used or refurbished computers.