Realistically speaking, what sort of career can a self-taught developer lead? (career ceiling)

I’m most concerned about salary, as that is 100% of my driving force, but I understand that COL differences can make that a bit of a meaningless discussion.

So I wanted to ask was this: What could say, a 22 year old college graduate, achieve in the software world? I understand that Web-development and full-stack development is what freeCodeCamp pushes, but what can of income do those employees make? Does the lack of a CS degree hold them back?

For perspective, I am a recent college graduate in a non-employable field of study (liberal arts). I had originally intended on attending law school - however, I realized to obtain the type of career I wanted, I would have to waste 3+ years of my life in what is likely the most elitist industry in the economy. If you don’t attend the top schools in the country (racking up hundreds of thousands in debt) you’re quite frankly wasting your time. While I could likely attend a lower-institution for a full ride, I couldn’t get into those top schools as I need to score in the top 97+% and I can’t break 90th percentile. To put this in perspective, most self-taught junior devs here are going to make more than a fresh lawyer 90% of the time.

I have very little math skills and little-to-no prior coding/programming experience. I am teaching myself using this and everything else 5+ hours everyday, but I’m not the brightest individual and it takes time. I’m willing to go back to school later on but I want to make a respectable salary first and foremost; assuming I practice every single day and work on cracking out 10+ projects in the next 6 months, is that achievable?

4 Likes

It’s going to depend on a lot of things. First and foremost, what you can do and where you live.