Is it still worth it to learn Java for Android development as a junior?

Hey everyone!

Although I’ve been studying programming for a few years now, I’m still unexperienced and have never worked as a developer before. I’m interested in Android development and I know quite a bit of Java, but it feels like it’s very quickly getting the back seat in Android dev as most companies are choosing Kotlin.

Should I keep learning and improving my Java knowledge or would it be better for me to learn Kotlin?

2 Likes

Hello!

Learn Kotlin :stuck_out_tongue:!

Java is almost interchangeable with Kotlin (and Gradle), so it’s a “win-win” situation :stuck_out_tongue:, plus Kotlin has features not natively available in Java (You need to rely on libraries like Lombok for some things).

Yes, but is it a better investment of my time to keep with Java or to learn Kotlin for the beginning? I mean, it’s not like I’m not going to learn Kotlin eventually. It’s just that I’m thinking which would help me get a job the fastest

The way I see it, You’ll have more chances with two languages than just one (even if You have little experience/knowledge), so I would go with Kotlin (or both, if You have the time).

2 Likes

Now that’s a good idea. I think I’ll keep using Java for a while since that’s the language chosen for the Udemy course I bought. Then I’ll pick up some Kotlin and see how it goes. But I’m under the impression that the experience isn’t that much different. Am I right?

The experience can be quite different :sweat_smile: with regards to the syntax (even though I said they’re mostly interchangeable):

• Kotlin is far easier to write in contrast to Java while still being strongly typed.
  • Kotlin has some syntax sugar that will make Your programming more efficient. For example, checking nulls:
fun main(args: Array<String>) {
    val utils = Utils();
    println(utils.len("a string"));
    println(utils.len(null));
}

class Utils {
    fun len(s: String?): Int? {