Is it too late to get a development job being 30 and no work experience of any kind?

Hi

In few days I’ll turn 30.

I’ve graduated from computer science 6 years a go. Since then I just lived with my parents whilst trying my hardest to improve my disability.

Now I am ready! Now I feel great, now I feel like I should have felt at 23. Now I want to start work. But is it too late?

A lot of people ask this question but it’s all people that want to change careers. I on the other hand never had a job. Doesn’t past work experience matter?

In terms of skill I have them. I might need to polish some of by projects, and maybe create something to show my current skills better, but I do know how to use node, react and their respective ecosystem. I do have the knowledge for junior position is not higher, but I am paralysed by the fear of the fact that I have no work experience of any kind

2 Likes

Just practice and build a notable portfolio. Contribute to free software.

It’s only too late if you plan to die this year.

5 Likes

https://twitter.com/search?q=%23devafter30&src=typd

5 Likes

God knows I’ve read most of them. But they all had a job before.

I’m starting a 6 year gap out of university. Does that put me in a worst position then them?

Does the total lack of non related work experience matter

Everyone starts with no work experience.

2 Likes

No it is never too late, to do anything :grinning:

Just practice, read some tutorials then do one or two projects and apply to a job!

If you think about it, the projects and exercises you do becomes your experience. Let’s say for example you make a dozen practice websites or apps, even if you didn’t make them for a specific client you still made them. You still took the time to think about the project requirements, design it, figure out the UI, the functionality. Your skills and the experience you gained honing and using them will show in your code and in your portfolio.

1 Like