Is it worth it?

Hello campers!
I’m a uni student, and I’m relatively soon getting my diploma, and as you guessed, it has nothing to do with web development and design. Afraid of not getting a job after college, since I don’t know anyone who did (didn’t know about the situation when enrolling), I looked up all the things I could do instead. The most tempting was web design - and here I am, learning with all of you. To get back to the subject, what are the real chances of getting a job, of earning as a freelancer? Do I need any certification besides the ones here? If there are chances of getting a job, what are the things I don’t learn here but should?
Sorry for my English and making such a long post.

Hi Amy.
What’s not worth it is forcing yourself to find a job even if it means something you dont like doing. If you can see urself be passionate about web dev, definitely do it. I wasted 2 yrs working healthcare related stuff thinking it was the only path for me. I realized i just forced myself to get a job in the related field as my degree because i didnt wamt to be one of those jobless graduates. It took me 2 yrs to grow the balls to just go for it. Once i did i loved what i was learning.

4 Likes

Hey!

I absolutely agree with this!
I have been on and off programming for the last 13 years. I never really thought I can make it as a professional developer because I do not have any certification or proper training but am self-taught. However, I have always embraced doing all kinds of projects - mostly helping out with open source projects that interested me.