Is the FCC certification enough to get a job?

Topic. By that I mean the skills gained in getting them, not the certs themselves. I’ve almost completed the Web Dev one, but the rest are taking me some time.

Should I build my own projects or do other courses as well? Getting a CS degree is out because of time and money constraints.

if you do all six certifications you will have more chances than doing nothing
you will still need to show your competences with your portfolio, where you will show some projects you did yourself with the various technologies you are learning

and even if you don’t/can’t want to do a CS degree, consider maybe a CS course online (Harvard offers one!)

you will also find out eventually that you are missing some theory and you will need to delve deeper there, but the CS course could help there.

6 Likes

Most important skill for self taught developers is Marketing.

If you have awesome skills, but nobody knows that you have these skills,
you won’t succeed.

=> Build a brand. Publish: build a portfolio, publish your knowledge (code and posts).

6 Likes

Mmm, vaguely yes. If you dont build anything outside of FCC then probably not. You do, after all, need to understand this technology well enough to do it on your own and not with a tutorial…
What will ACTUALLY get you a job after finishing FCC (or just doing the curriculum and not certs) is networking. Being self taught is a hard road to walk without someone on the inside vouching for your skills. There are so many bootcamp grads now, and they are in the “no experience” category, too.

1 Like

I completely disagree. This is becoming a common belief and it’s really sad to see.