Just done the tribute project, would love some feedback

Here’s my tribute page

I started off really wasting loads of time just trying to pick someone to make the page about! I realised that I was kind of worrying about small irrelevant details and missing the point of the task. So I settled on this guy and stuck more or less the entire wiki entry for him in there.

To begin with I really wanted to plan out a design to actually work to but I’m not much of a designer and again, so I decided to just make it up as I go along with a vague idea that I wanted the layout to change as the device width scales up or down.

Initially I was using bootstrap but I figured I’d learn more if I didn’t bother with that and just used css so that’s what I did. It looks like a total monstrosity but as a complete noob I’m pretty pleased with it, although the main thing I learned from the exercise was how much I don’t know!

Good job making it responsive.
Much harder to use all the media tags than using bootstrap.

Let me just say that bootstrap can be your friend in the future.
Having the power of bootstrap’s responsiveness allows you to concentrate more on style and creativity.

I feel your page was long on content but fell short on style.
Sorry, but just being honest.

Thanks for your reply! No need to say sorry, that’s entirely true, I mean i said myself that it’s a monstrosity! To be fair though I was approaching it more as an exercise in implementing basic html and css with design very much an afterthought. I thought it might be better to do the exercise and move on than spend more time on pure aesthetics given I have no interest in being a graphic designer.