Learning JavaScript from zero

Guys i got seriously stuck and demotivated because i don’t know what i missed on my road to learning JavaScript and programming logic in general.

I’ve started taking JS seriously since January this year(working on it every single day).
I finished whole es5 and half es6 on fcc curriculum, and im actively doing Udemy course and building projects(2 of them).

Up until this point, Udemy course and my attention was on exclusively es5 syntax , and i highlight “syntax” for reason.

Since i started learning ES6 it hit me like a train, like totally new programming language.To be specific, arrays bring the most of uncertainty. All that new methods filter,reduce,sort,map,from and destructuring , spread operators, rest parameters, etc. It’s all about arrays in different ways and situations which i don’t understand when they will appear and why.

I saw this quote from one of FCC blog posts and it says:

“The biggest mistake I see new programmers make is focusing on learning syntax instead of learning how to solve problems.”

Yeah… This appeared after i got myself digging trough JavaScript as self-taught.

So my ultimate question is, what order should i take in learning from this point:
a) learn data structures because i feel like my array confusion comes from that hole and then continue with es6.
b) push trough syntax and then come after data structures and algorithms
c) stop learning syntax until i understand data structures and algorithms on basic level.

I’m sorry for a long text, and please write what order you think is most logical.

I recommend learning about Higher Order Functions first, namely map and filter, then moving on to reduce. ES5 supported these too, but the anonymous function syntax made them kind of cumbersome to use, whereas the introduction of arrow functions caused them to become much more popular.