Maths Teacher to Software Engineer

Hi everyone, please can you offer some advice regarding my desire to move into software development.

I’ve got a good job as a systems support on £38k per year but I’m bored. I used to be a Maths teacher and enjoy working on advance technical problems, hence I feel that programming would scratch that itch. I’ve tried some tutorials but struggle to maintain motivation after a point. I feel like I would do better to learn on the job. Is it possible to land a job with a similar salary to my current one without a strong portfolio demonstrating programming experience?

The longer version of my background is I grew up enjoying working with computers, building my own gaming PCs and tinkering with software. I’ve always been very good at Maths and eventually studied Mathematics and Computing at University, which I thoroughly enjoyed and graduated with a 2:1. I particularly enjoyed some projects in the final year using Python and PHP.

Also, in my final year at uni my partner became pregant, which put pressure on me to find a job in a hurry. I applied for some tech focused jobs with no success. Two of the jobs I applied for the interviews went really well but my programming skills were limited. In one of them they gave me a programming challenge in C, which I was less familiar with. The experience of these interviews shook my confidence a lot. I was also applying to be a secondary Maths teacher and accepted a job offer. At first I enjoyed the challenge and being a part of the education process, but after a couple of years I was getting bored with the level of the Maths. However, my wife wanted a bigger house and we now had 2 kids, so the salary meant I continued for 13 years total.

In 2017 I started to invest in GPU cryptocurrency mining as this fulfilled my interest in technology and in 2020 I was able to leave teaching. This also allowed me to refresh all my technology knowledge.