Mental models for JS

Hi, everyone!

This is a collaboration request.

Like many of you here I am a total newbie trying to teach myself some JS. It’s been only 2 months now.
And like many of you here, I find it hard to grasp some concepts (even the most basic ones) just by crunching texts, videos or even practice (exercises).

What I’ve recently found useful for really understanding stuff is building “mental models”. By building mental models I mean building a comprehensible story around a dry coding concept, relying heavily on visual associations which appear in our brains while we try to make our way through JS concepts.

As two examples of such mental models:

1. “Eloquent JavaScript” book suggests to imagine variables more like an octopus’s tentacles, rather than boxes where you put a value (by the way, the Box itself is a mental model too and a very well-known one).

2. Dan Abramov in his “Just Javascript” series elaborated on a similar concept of variables by using “wires” instead of tentacles.
    This GIF is an example of variables mental model illustration from “Just Javascript” by Dan Abramov & Maggie Appleton (link below):

As for me, I accidentally had a primitive idea while trying to understand JS functional programming basics (especially the Promises part). I imagined code written in functional style as a water pipe system, where you put some values in the first pipe (first function) and then it flows consequently through all the pipes and side-branches of pipes. Inside this mental model, a Promise is some kind of a clever pipe tee - directing the flow differently, depending of what’s flowing.

I’ve failed to develop this pipe model any further, so if you could help me on that - that could be very helpful for me and other beginner campers here.

Putting variable concept and all this plumbing stuff aside - I am pretty sure, you guys have discovered a lot of unique and unobvious visual images of JS concepts for yourselves.