My FCC story: Finance degree -> Software Engineering -> Product Management

Over the last three years I’ve had a wild journey around the world working my dream jobs thanks to the skills I picked up on FreeCodeCamp. I remember being in university and reading as many blog posts and forums by self-taught developers as I could find, and now that I’m on the other side, thought it made sense to share my own story and some advice on how I would go about learning if I were to start again.

University // Vancouver, Canada

I studied Finance + Economics in university and only really discovered coding in my first year. I had lots of friends studying computer science and saw all the cool projects there working on and decided to give it a go. I started teaching myself to code in the summer and was instantly hooked. While I loved studying finance and economics, I knew that I didn’t want a career in finance and for various reasons I didn’t want to switch majors to computer science. So, I spent the next few years teaching myself to code trying out a bunch of resources and jumping between Ruby + Rails, Javascript, HTML, CSS, Python, and SQL. Eventually, I decided that the FCC fullstack certificate was the most useful for me and completed about 90% of it by the time I graduated.

Software Engineer // Medellín, Colombia

I had also been teaching myself Spanish throughout university and figured the quickest way to fast track my Spanish + engineering skills would be to work as a developer at a Spanish-speaking startup in South America.

I sent cold-emails to quite a few interesting startups in Peru and Colombia and pretty quickly got a frontend engineering role with a short-term housing marketplace startup in Medellín, Colombia. I must admit that the interview process wasn’t so technical. I basically walked one of the co-founders through some personal projects I’d worked on and told him what languages and frameworks I felt comfortable with.