My first job at 31 after 2 months coding

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share my story in the hope that it could help others.

I am 31 years old and have an academic background in Community Psychology and Housing Studies. I have a BSc a MSc and a PgCert that I have completed in different countries (Italy, UK).

I am currently based in London.

After going for several managerial interview I realised that I did not like anymore my profession and I was looking for something that could make me feel passionate about what I do.
In my teens’ years I have been a professional e-gamer (CounterStrike 1.5) and I have been always really close to the tech world (building my own machine, etc), although without ever writing a single line of code.

At the end of September 2018, something clicked inside me, and I bought the John Duckett’s book ‘HTML & CSS’. After scrolling a couple pages I just dived into online tutorial, and so on and so forth (buying the standards Web Developer Bootcamp on Udemy).

After 3 weeks into HTML CSS and JS, I have seen a Software Developer position opening for the company I currently work for (public body) and I asked the Developer Manager for a meeting to have some insight regarding the work being done and how to progress as a starting developer.

She explained to me that the position was for a back-end Developer and he encouraged me to apply to gain experience as internal candidate (working in a totally different department).

I wasn’t sure of the stack as it included different technologies I never heard before (Ruby, RoR, C#, .NET, Angular) and I started learning Ruby whilst simultaneously applying for internship and (free) bootcamps which required passing Ruby challenges.

2 weeks later, and barely a month into coding, I had my first three interview. One for my current employer, one for a start-up looking for a Junior Dev to train, one for a coding bootcamp which provided internship and basic salary.