I got a developer job - a dream comes true for me

Today i accepted my first developer job so i figured i would share my story with you to hopefully motivate some of you.

My Journey

The Past

My journey is quite a long one - i have written my first lines of code probably 15years ago, as i was always fascinated by computers.

Unfortunately i was a very lazy student which meant that i could not go to university. So i went into an other profession and gave up on coding. Until 2010 when i started to attend evening school to finally be able to go to university to study software engineering.

The Present

In 2014 i started studying software engineering at university. In November this year i felt confident enough to apply for jobs and after about one month of applications i got a job as a java developer.

The Future

Getting a job is just the beginning of an even larger journey, my goal for the next year is to get up to speed as soon as i can so that i can be a productive team member. This is a bit scary but overall i am very happy for the opportunity i have gotten.

#Learnings

• I dont believe in talent - if you put in the work you will be successfull
  • Focus on the fundamentals not on new languages or that trendy framework
  • If you dont have a degree you need to showcase of what you are capable - put your stuff on github
  • You will fail whiteboard interviews and some people will try to bring you down - work on your interviewing skills and dont let anyone tell you of what you are capable or not.
  • Get a mentor
  • Im lucky that education in my country is free, but i think my FCC Certificate also played a big role as it showed people that im serious about learning.

TLDR: If i can do it, you can do it to - work hard and success will follow!

10 Likes

Nice:ok_hand:thanks for the motivation BTW which country are you from @Horv87

@MuiaKigondu im from Austria :slight_smile:

Aaah! Guten Morgen! :slight_smile:

Guten Morgen :slight_smile: