30+ and got first developer job

First of all, sorry for my English, as English is my second language.:slight_smile:

Iā€™m from Indonesia. I knew FCC last year, before that I was playing around with codecademy.
I always consider myself as a geek, I love trying new techs and reading books about computer programs despite my major in literature and my job as language teacher and translator.

My first attempt was in 2008 and I was trying to teach myself Java but failed and I stopped trying, and then in 2010 I got web translation job, that was the time I fell in love with web development. when I downloaded the web file and opened it in Ms.Word (I didnā€™t know IDE) and saw lines of HTML code I was fascinated with the idea of web development, I thought ā€œwow, itā€™s amazing, how with lines of code you can make something useful and beautiful at the same time.ā€ That was my trigger to teach myself HTML and CSS and because of these skills I got a job as webmaster for a trading company, I didnā€™t touch coding at all because the companyā€™s website was using wordpress.

After 4 years working as worpress webmaster (still teaching too), I decided to switch career as web developer, but I didnā€™t know where should I begin. Out of nowhere as Universe listened my dream, some link about codehour (Hadi Partovi) brought me to another link, I ended up watching youtube video about programming Why Our Kids Must Learn to Code and it made me enrolled to CodeCademy and later in FreeCodeCamp.

I spent a year trying to figure out JavaScript puzzle in FCC as English is not my mother tongue, but I kept repeating it and finally understood how JavaScript works, but I still have to learn it more deeply.
at this time I also fell in love with rails and trying to follow all tutorials about cloning web apps with rails.
I am still at front-end intermediate project but all the puzzles Iā€™ve passed, built a stronger basic front-end skill for me.