My first React website [feedback]

Hi guys,

I have been familiar with HTML, CSS and JS basics for a while. A few weeks ago I started learning React and I came to the conclusion that building my own website is a good idea while studying the course and watching other tutorials.

Here is the site: https://reverent-snyder-bcd56a.netlify.com/
It was pretty easy to get a hang of Git/Github and Netlify.

Certainly there are some bugs and mistakes here and there, but I managed to make it a responsive website (mobile-first approach). There are random texts and images. One of my hobbies is trading currencies (Forex) so I decided to start building a signal website. I’m not using jQuery, only React. JSX is pretty easy to learn but it takes time of course.

Now, since the front-end part is almost done, I will start learning about the back-end. I will start with Node.js, Express then Mongo. Then I can officially become a full stack MERN developer. :slight_smile: For this website, after taking a few courses and tutorials, I will implement a user dashboard (signup, login, signout, profile settings, user dashboard) and will try using an API too. This sounds a bit overwhelming at first and it’s going to be a lot more difficult than the front-end part, but I really want to showcase a full-blown app. So I will start working on this…

What do you think so far? I look forward to your feedback and criticism.

Thank you!
David

It’s a good idea to apply what you learn to personal projects, easier to find the motivation that way.

Overall I think it looks pretty good. You have some good use of dynamic layout, like the modal, tabbed layout and price switcher.

Few things:

1. The image sizes are all over the place. Some are too small and pixelate, others are way bigger then they need to be.

2. The section navigation does not land correctly. I’d also add scroll-behavior: smooth; (add it on the html selector).

3. Add cursor: pointer; to all buttons.