My story as a self-taught front-end developer in Indonesia

Hello guys, it’s my first time posting here, and I kinda want to share my experience getting a job as a front-end developer.

Hopefully it can motivate and even help someone out there :slight_smile:

I actually wanted to do this and have been asked by Quincy Larson a long time ago in reddit about doing this, but me being me, I procrastinated a lot, so, here goes.

A bit of background:

• I’m Indonesian, having an aerospace engineering degree.
  • Not really into aerospace industry in general, plus aerospace graduate is not much sought locally, which is suck, to be honest. Most of my fellow went into airline (not my turf), plane maintenance facility (from what I heard: mostly following procedure, nothing new can be added; not my thing), and master degree (read below).
  • Decided to suck it up and go learn front-end web development on my own since I love programming anyway. I have a bit C++ background in college.
  • Aerospace engineering master dropout since I didn’t know what I even doing there, just went with the flow of things.

Alright let’s start.

I learnt on freecodecamp for around 2 years (2016 - 2018) with ups and downs. I landed a first job around mid 2018.

For the first one and half year, I didn’t delve hard into web development since I was focusing on my unsuccessful master degree, with a side gig as a physics and math tutor.

On 2018, I started to focus on freecodecamp and my front-end development learning in general. I focused really really hard I didn’t even work on my thesis and meet with my professor anymore, since I actually know what I want to do in my life for once. I even stopped tutoring and barely made ends meet! it was a harsh life.