My tips and tricks that helped me get a Dev Job

Hello, campers.

I’m Nicolas. I started learning code in October 2017 without having any prior coding knowledge or experience. I got a Full-time JavaScript developer job less than a month ago. I’d like to share some of the experience of learning, building a portfolio, applying, interviews and attitude.

It didn’t come easy, but it did come very fast in my opinion. Could you become a doctor, mechanic, engineer or whatever higher paid profession in ~6 months?.. I don’t think so! Let’s begin!

LEARNING

• FCC challenges are very good to INTRODUCE you to different technologies and give you a proper path to follow. My biggest issue, in the beginning, was that I didn’t know WHAT to learn. FCC helps A LOT with that!
  • Don’t limit yourself to one resource. Do FCC stuff, then watch some youtube videos - there are some great channels with tons of content. If you’re still uncertain, buy a course on Udemy (it’s only 11$).
  • What worked for me is “staging” the learning. For example, I just learned ES6 arrow functions and promises. Instead of moving on with the course (and forget the thing I learned before), I build some small project where I’ll use arrow functions and promises throughout the whole project for it to “sink in”.
  • Use FCC forum, coding Discord, and Slack channels, coding Facebook groups, Stackoverflow and many more. Put yourself out there. Ask questions, participate in debates, help people. Even if you’re just starting out, you maybe came across clip-path techniques in CSS and some other guy asks the question about it! Teach him! BY TEACHING OTHERS YOU’RE NOT ONLY GIVING BACK TO THE COMMUNITY, BUT YOU WILL UNDERSTAND THE MATERIAL YOU’RE TEACHING MUCH BETTER!