Need some advice

So I need some advice. In February I started learning on fcc and for that month I was on every day and by the end of the month I did my tribute page with no problems, the page was not great but just ok.
But when I started the portfolio project it felt like I had learnt nothing and not very disheartened.
So I took a few days break from it but then I got ill and run down. So now over a month later I’m trying to get back into learning but can’t get myself in the swing of things.

So should I start from the start again from the beginning?

1 Like

I agree with @P1xt but I’ll add that I think there can be value in jumping back to specific challenges to refresh yourself on a topic or properly understand something you glossed over before.

2 Likes

I 90% agree with @P1xt, but because it has been so long since you last looked at it all I do think you could benefit from going back through some material from a different source.

If you have not done so already, check out UDEMY and consider either course from Rob Percival or Colt Steele. Colt will give you knowledge to have so much more confidence within a day or two. Rob is a slower pace than Colt, but his methodology may be more beneficial for the long term. Search the internet for coupons and each can be purchased for $15-20. Personally, both are more than worth it and I’ve spent time working through both. If you can only afford one, go with Colt.

4 Likes

The advice from @P1xt might seem harsh, but is also 100% true. I had the exact same meltdown you’re going through right now a couple of weeks ago. I think what ended up helping me the most was instead of starting FCC over, I found some other tutorials on HTML and CSS from places like Codecademy, Udemy and Youtube (Coding Tutorials 360 is pretty great). They were all covering roughly the same stuff that FCC does, but explaining it in different ways that sometimes stuck more for me.