How should I tackle the tribute page and portfolio as a complete beginner?

I’m not a creative guy so these projects already have me in a rut.

Is it bad if I stick to what I learned in just FCC lessons? I know it wasn’t recommended but I took a quick peek at other codes for these projects (the “simpler” looking pages) and even those seem to use a lot of stuff that wasn’t touched upon in the prior FCC lessons.

Should I take a look at other online courses for more HTML and CSS stuff or should I just tackle the projects with just FCC knowledge and come back to it later?

And will the HTML and CSS stuff I’ve learned in FCC be enough for future projects or am I expected to be learning more CSS and HTML stuff outside of it?

Sorry if this was already asked before, I’m just feeling a bit overwhelmed.

3 Likes

Don’t worry,I was in the exact same position as you. I got to the tribute page and just drew a blank, then once I had cobbled something together for the tribute, the portfolio page sent me into meltdown!

I know there are a lot of resources on this board, but the one that I found most helpful was Colt Steele’s web developer boot camp on udemy (I’m on my phone so can’t link). I paid 15AUD for it using a discount code (there are plenty about, let me know if you need one), and his modules on html, css, and bootstrap pretty much cover off all of that content.

the other alternative would be to start googling about bootstrap, html elements, and CSS and begin trawling the documentation. personally, I struggle with this method, but it might work for you

3 Likes

I think it’s totally fine to copy exactly the style and look that the examples use. It is important to be able to copy something exactly, and that doesn’t require much creativity. And it still is very good practice to try to precisely copy something.