Need some Java help please

All, I’ll be honest- I’m a project manager interviewing for a new job. They’re looking for someone with “a little bit” of a technical background. I am not familiar with JavaScript and was hoping someone could could help with the below situation.

Your colleague has pointed out an issue and is asking for your help to understand what’s going on. They want to set a flag to true if the patient has an insurance that includes the word “Blue” – they thought this would be easy but are seeing some unexpected results. Using the sample inputs below, please troubleshoot the issue, provide a brief explanation of your findings, and suggest how the code should be updated.

function isBlueInsurance(inputMessage) {

​if (inputMessage.indexOf('Blue') != -1) {

​return true;
​
​} else {

​return false;

​}

}
Sample inputs (format → ‘Patient ID|Patient Name|Age|Visit ID|Diagnosis|Unit|Room|Insurance’)

message1 = ‘123|Steven Martin|68|1111|Heart failure|5W|18A|Medicare’;
message2 = ‘456|Jennifer Craig|43|1112|Gastric bypass surgery|T8|02B|Blue Shield’;
message3 = ‘789|Lisa Blueser|15|1113|Pneumonia|E3|13A|Self Pay’;

what kind of help are you hoping for? how much do you understand of the challenge?

Java or JavaScript? they are not the same thing

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard.
Note: Backticks (`) are not single quotes (’).

So let’s help you do that. Do you understand what the code is currently doing? If so, can you explain to us why it is buggy?