New to coding with a bit of struggles

Hello! I started learning code this year! I stopped for a few weeks because I caught covid and then bronchitis infection following. It was the worst, but I’m finally better again and can get back to learning.
So far I’ve learned html and css (I still have a bit of trouble centering things with it lol).
Right now I’m starting Javascript which already feels challenging, but I’m excited about it. I’m also an artist and I work part-time at a library. I started coding because I like trying new things and I hope can be a career change for me. Library work has been kind of rough since 2020 and I haven’t been able to go full time with them despite my many efforts. So hoping to carve out a new pathway for myself.
One thing I haven’t managed to do is find any coding community. Any tips for finding/joining them? I found a fb group but they just post memes and don’t really talk.
Thanks!

1 Like

I have a vague idea about this one.
What kind of community do you want to find?
Here is the cool community. If you have issues/questions about some code, just post it.
Here is no memes, mostly talking about specific code-related issues.

I am currently searching for some local communities in my area, but I think it’s not what you are asking about. This is kinda more IRL stuff. And anyway I just started, don’t have any tips about this process.

I think perhaps the hardest thing about self directed learning is knowing what to work on, and having the discipline to keep at it without any external accountability. When I was starting out (I pivoted in my mid 30s), I completed most of fcc but I had a mentor who helped me which made a huge difference.

Like you said, I think open communities are great for certain things but for obvious reasons, “superCoolCoder123” is probably not thinking deeply about your personal success and may just enjoy posting fun memes (which is great too!).