Newbie Programmer schedule

Hi my name is Mike and I will be finishing up my current job in 2 weeks and wont be working during the rest of my Web Development program at Bloc and I am currently struggling with applying code to problem solving and understanding a lot of the code, so I am looking for input on my schedule I will have. Since I am not working I will have 10-12 hours 6 days a week free to work on furthering this program and my skills to finish up the program in 3-4 months and get a developer job. Any opinions on a good accurate routine outline to learn and apply programming would greatly be appreciated.

1 Like

Well, it sounds like you’re doing a lot of work.

I might add … as a music teacher, I often tell my students, “I wish I could go back in time and practice half as much but practice ten times smarter.” Make sure you are focused on what you want. If you aren’t learning a specific skill, then be challenging yourself by building something different. I keep a list of “Things I Should Understand Better” and revisit it often.

I am a little concerned about the line “…to finish up the program in 3-4 months and get a developer job.” Finishing a bootcamp does not automatically get you a job. There are factors like the job market in your area, how your skill set matches up with employer needs, your portfolio, your ability to sell yourself, and just plain luck. Some people do get jobs right away, but they are the exception. Most people have to struggle in a job search for a while, sometimes even a couple years.

2 Likes

Burn out, burn out and more burn out.

I learn 1-2 hours a day. Thats as much as I can function and actually take in, any more than that and I am wasting my time and energy. I usually go and spend time on a project, or living my life doing things outside in the fresh air like taking photos or walking the dog… :slightly_smiling_face: