Not a CS major: can i still get a job?

hi, I’m a 3rd year undergraduate majoring in civil engineering but want to get into coding. i am doing FCC plus some extra courses from Coursera.

My question is that can i still get a job by the end of my 4th year in college, just an entry level job in coding.

I have only started this year and feel that i am too late. I also have a fear that all my peers will get good jobs at MNC’s and ill be the only one left because i started too late, because my branch is not right.

Also, for someone who has just started, how should i learn DSA or from where, nothing too hard because I don’t want to give up too soon.

1 Like

Can you get a job without a CS degree? Sure. Will it be harder? Probably.

I got a coding job without a CS degree. Of course, I think my non-CS degree helped - it showed that I could think and follow through on something. And engineering degree would probably help even more.

My question is that can i still get a job by the end of my 4th year in college, just an entry level job in coding.

I don’t know. What does your portfolio look like? How well do you interview? What is the job market like where you are? How well does you skill set match up with that? Etc., etc., etc. And luck plays a part.

I have only started this year and feel that i am too late. I also have a fear that all my peers will get good jobs at MNC’s and ill be the only one left because i started too late, because my branch is not right.

If that is your concern, how well you do vs your peers and how fast you get into the market, then yeah, this is probably going to take longer. But why do you care? We’re talking about your happiness and job satisfaction for the rest of your life. But that’s up to you.

Also, for someone who has just started, how should i learn DSA or from where, nothing too hard because I don’t want to give up too soon.