Opinion of REACT

Opinion of REACT

Anyone have thoughts about REACT?
Although I am still learning it, my feeling is it is maintaining state between components is a massive headache. :confused:

This is adding lots of extra development time which in the real world (where time = cost) may not be acceptable. So what is the benefit?

A super fast app. Well yes the updates are fast but the initial loading of the page is slow.
And does the real speed benefit only appear when using large data sets?
I would say the majority of sites don’t use large data sets.

Also our full stack app has +874 hidden modules and webpack takes over 30 seconds to save. Wow! :open_mouth: So much code!!
bundle.js is now 3.7 mb and 113026 line long!
Is this normal?

Hi @JohnnyBizzel

Personally, I love React, or at least, I love the whole idea of small, composable components inside of JavaScript. It makes writing dynamic applications a lot easier than using something like jQuery. Obviously, if you’re just creating a static page that has little interactivity, then using React is probably overkill.

Another library that seems to be picking up some steam is Vue. I haven’t looked into it too much yet but it seems to be a hybrid of Angular and React that also has some interesting ideas.

I agree, managing state between components can be a headache, that’s why I tend to use Redux if I’m dealing with data that is anything more than binding an inputs value to state. Having a central, easy to access, state object makes live SOOOO much easier. Redux also provides some useful bindings for use with React: https://github.com/reactjs/react-redux.

Also, if you don’t need to manage state or refs inside a component, you can use a functional component which, I believe, React optimises for speed.

function MyComponent(props, context) {
  return (
    <div>
      Stuff...
    </div>
  );
}