Prioritize phone compatibility over desktop?

Hey guys I try not to go to far in a rabbit hole whenever I see something about code but the topic of media queries I feel is very relevant and I want some advice. Should design be prioritized for mobile first? Here is the W3 schools link (https://www.w3schools.com/css/css_rwd_mediaqueries.asp) saying to prioritize mobile design first but I don’t know if that’s another layer of abstraction that I shouldn’t have to worry about. Although at the same time it is very relevant considering the use of phones in this time. And being that I just finished a few simple projects without keeping that in mind does worry me a bit because I don’t know if EVERYTHING should be phone AND desktop compatible( and if employers would consider it valuable if someone knows how to do such things). I do see relevance in the phone compatibility but especially since i’m a beginner, I sorta feel like i’m banging my head trying to make something appear on a phone the same as on a desktop. To add some perspective i’m about a month in on coding and have only learned CSS and HTML but I feel very good on both. Thanks for the time.

What you are talking about is “mobile first design”. Yes, it is a valid strategy and yes some companies lean into it hard. It is work researching and knowing about.

i’m about a month in on coding and have only learned CSS and HTML but I feel very good on both.

Wow, I’ve been doing CSS for years and still feel weak. Many people hate CSS but it is amazingly powerful and can do magical things that would take a lot of JS and still wouldn’t work as well. Learning CSS is a good thing to have. I recommend the book CSS Mastery, but I’m sure there are other good ones too.

1 Like