Random Quote Generator - Feedback request

Hi, It has taken me two full days to get this working, way too long, but I was determined to get it to work… feedback anyone can give on the JS/jQuery code would be awesome. I know it’s probably cringe-worthy. :slight_smile: I have no prior coding experience to speak of.

There are a few TODO notes I’ve left at the bottom of the code:

// TODO: Try to figure out why the twitter button disappears after the first press of the quote button. Think it’s something to do with the way Twitter implements their widgets.js voodoo, as the code works if put directly into html.
// TODO: Shorten the twitter quote if > 140 chars including the author
// TODO: Try this with a quotes JSON api
// TODO: Refactor to remove some of the repetition?

Thanks,

Tim

You have such a limited pool of quotes right now that sometimes the same quote shows up twice (or more, in some of my tests) in a row, which then makes it seem like your button is randomly occasionally dysfunctional. (I actually thought it was randomly occasionally dysfunctional until I ran a quick console.log() test!)

You don’t have to use the Twitter share button on your site–you can also just create your own button and code it so that when the user clicks on it, it still goes to the same destination as the Twitter share button. (And voila! No iframes or things you don’t want!)

You also don’t need to put the Twitter share code in each of your two “sections,” and I would actually advise you not to get in the habit of doing things like that–it’s typically considered bad practice to have a lot of repetition in your code because that typically means you’re coding inefficiently. :slight_smile:

Your code in general seems a little inefficient to me–you can accomplish the same thing in 2 relatively short .click() methods, one for the Twitter button and one for the quote button.

Also, this: “the twitter button disappears after the first press of the quote button” does not happen for me.