Resume review for an entry level web developer with no experience[just out of bootcamp]

I recently completed a fullstack developer course from a coding bootcamp, and created my first resume. I’m actually 18, and I have little to zero experience in the real world, just a few small projects and a portfolio. So I was wondering if anyone could help me and let me know if what I have setup on my resume is good enough or not. Here’s an image of my resume:

1 Like

I think it looks pretty good.

A few things…

Your profile…

it’s just a bunch a platitudes. If I read that, I just get the same things that everyone would say about themselves. Everyone describes themselves as “passionate”. They will decide if they think you are “qualified” - what does that even mean? Are you qualified for everything?

I’d rather hear what kind of stack you work on, what kind of job you want… If you were on an elevator with a hiring manager and were given 5-10 seconds to sum up what you want to tell him, what would you tell him? And there is a weird gap between the words “junior” and “web”.

Your experience…

Is that work experience? I would expect that to be jobs that you’ve worked. Are those just projects?

Also, the formatting is inconsistent in this section?

I’m not a big fan of including a photo, but that can depend on your country. If that is common in your country? Also, is that a “professional” photo? Again, a lot of that will depend on your culture. That may be a common workplace attire for a developer (heck, in some places you’d be overdressed) but in some business cultures, putting a headshot in a cap and a sweatshirt might be offputting. I’d want to risk being too formal than not enough. But again, it depends on where you are. (And to be honest, I’m probably overly formal about these things.)

2 Likes

I’d think about your current use of space.

Roughly 25% of it is spent on listing the skills, which also appear under your experience area.