Self-taught dev feeling overwhelmed and looking for advice

Hi guys,

This post is a bit long, so I wrote a TLDR at the bottom. I’ve been learning how to code since late last year with the aim to get a full time job as a Front End Developer here in the UK.

The problem is I feel like I’ve not made any real progression since I started. I’ve built projects such as a News API, OOP Booklist Project and at least 3 Websites using HTML, CSS, JS and SASS, but none of them stand out. I used the portfolio design from Traversy Media’s SASS Project as my portfolio, as I didn’t feel confident in my initial portfolio design. The designs for a few of my projects aren’t anything special, but I feel that with more and more practice I’ll definitely become more confident wiith creating designs. I also dont know whether I should be focusing on my personal projects or projects that will get me hired. I’d also like to know what kind of projects employers are looking for.

With Javascript, I feel as though I should have mastered or at least been very proficient in React or another framework and moved onto a back-end language by now. I’ve tried moving on to advanced projects to put on my portfolio, but I get overwhelmed on where to start. I look at other people’s projects/portfolio for inspiration and end up feeling so overwhelmed, that I go back to learn the fundamentals.

I’m confident in my soft skills. It may just be me overthinking and over analysing things but I feel like the last few months have just passed me by and it’s kind of depressing.

I’m looking to add Webpack, Node.js, Express and React to my current skillset as well.