Should I stop or continue?

I don’t know if I should continue with the curriculum here at free code camp. The curriculum is great, however my personal situation is kind of questionable for the coder or programmer route. I live in Fort Smith, Arkansas, a town I can only describe as a small, scaled down version of Detroit. The only real jobs that are around here are in manufacturing, however all of the manufacturing has been leaving at a steady pace since the great recession. To give an example, the oldest manufacturer in the city, acme brick, just announced they will shut down their factories in the area here. Ever since the manufacturing left drugs like meth and crack have taken their place. What businesses are left are seen as corrupt along with the people who run the city. I graduated with a finance degree with the idea i would get my CFA someday, and that I would have been some financial big shot. However, due to the fact that the city is a massive crap hole I couldn’t find work in that field without some form of nepotism or cronyism, so I decided to teach myself how to code. The only downside is there aren’t any real tech companies that are close by. What I’m really trying to ask here is, with the terrible economic conditions of the city, my degree in a non-STEM field, and the lack of tech companies near by, is it worth continuing the free code camp curriculum. Am I going to put in all the hours and hard work for nothing and find myself in the same place I found myself in before I started, or am I going to somehow get lucky and some employer is going to ignore the fact that my degree is in finance and completely self taught?

If you learn X, but there are no jobs for X, how are you going to work unless you move?
This has nothing to do with FCC, or learning to code, just a life question you should be asking yourself due to your current predicament.

Considering your current predicament there are a few things to consider.