Start coding career @ 50+

Looking for honest feedback from professionals working as front end / backend / app dev.

My scenario: I’m in my early 50’s Army veteran and have 23 years IT Networking / System Admin / Storage Admin experience. Never coded in my career. Due to health issues I became medically disabled the last few years. Bored as heck and wanting to make money again, I tried coding 2yrs ago & found it interesting challenge. I became discouraged because of the whole ageism I hear going on in IT. Once again I have the itch and began coding even if it’s just for a hobby. Although I’m very technically inclined being away from technology a few years in IT can seem like a decade. Btw I have no degree just some college education but many expired IT certifications. I’m self taught always.

My questions are:

1. Had anyone with my general IT background switched to coding professionally and find it very difficult (burn out) especially my age doing it full time?

2. Is ageism these days really an issue after age 40?

3. Would my IT experience count at all at least salary wise to start above entry level for first coding? I do have significant server experience and light sql config of server but no db experience.

4. What challenges (culturally / generation gap) can one my age expect fitting with those 20-30yrs my jr? Ironically many say I tend to look 10-13yrs younger & I’m certainly open-minded as well as people oriented. I have no ego of learning from younger people as I believe everyone holds a piece of the puzzle.

5. Would smaller to mid-size companies tend to be better fit for seasoned adults than the Google, Apple, Twitter, etc… type?

Any suggestions, comments, questions welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Just notes (sorry, bit jumbled):