Starting over in life at 32

Hi guys!; I just made my account in this forum and I wanted to share my life choices with you to get a little extra motivation. Im a 32 year old lawyer from Argentina. I’ve been one since I was 23 and had an average career so far, with reasonable success. Nonetheless I’m exhausted with the carreer and really need something different for my future. So I’ve decided to start over in life and learn to code so i can eventually have a carreer in software development and ultimately be able to work remotely. I’d be really happy to hear some encouragement and overall your thoughts in the matter. Cheers!

7 Likes

Hi Kjeld!

I’m also in my 30s and trying this out for similar reasons - I figure adding a new skillset in coding can’t hurt as I explore a new career path. My career background is in healthcare and I can relate to being exhausted and wanting something new, especially flexibility to WFH.

As a lawyer, I’m sure you have a great understanding of logic and excellent attention to detail - which seem like key skills in learning to code!

I’m enjoying the Responsive Web Design module so far! Have you started with that one?

I enjoy puzzles and patterns, and so far that’s how I would describe it - if that makes sense.

My partner is a software engineer and is planning to do a couple of the advanced modules in Python on here. I’m trying not to ask him any questions when I get stuck - these forums are a huge help when stuck on a step!

One tip I’d give is to use Chrome as a browser. I was using Safari, and in the first project in Responsive Web Design I hit a step that would not work in Safari! I switched to Chrome and no more issues.

Good luck to you!

Cheers~

4 Likes

Hi!, Thank you for replying!, it’s conforting knowing that I’m not alone in this.