Stuck with portfolio page challenge

Dear all,

I am a beginner in code learning.

To Build a Personal Portfolio Webpage, i don’t know how to make the navigation menu bar. I googled and found this site. I test and follow up to Step 3 and there are two situations.

Situation 1

After pasting the code, no sections (that means ABOUT, PORTFOLIO, CONTACT) are shown.

Situation 2

Not until I test & delete the original line 4
div class=“collapse navbar-collapse” id=“myNavbar”

then three sections (that means ABOUT, PORTFOLIO, CONTACT) are shown.

My questions are :

1/ Why Situation 2 shows the sections but Situation 1 does not?

2/ are there any recommendable resources or readings before i start to work this challenge out?

I think and think but still cannot figure it out. I hope I can really LEARN & understand coding, rather than just copy & paste. Thank you in advance.:pray:

The collapse navbar-collapse classes are for when you are viewing the page at a smaller screen size and will show the “hamburger” icon (3 lines) on the side instead of the text. If you click the icon, it should show the hidden sections.

The reason you aren’t seeing these may be because you need to adjust the screen/column size when testing out in Codepen. I would suggest keeping a tab open with the Full Screen size or manually adjusting the column size in Codepen as you code.

A lot of times when you’re working on a project like this, you are learning despite feeling like you’re just copying and pasting. Reading documentation to figure out how to make something look and work the way you want it to is a skill especially in web development that also has to be learned.

Thank you for ur prompt help!

1/ I have tried to keep a tab open with the Full Screen size or manually adjusting the column size in Codepen as shown below, but it is pity that situation 1 still exists (all sections ABOUT, PORTFOLIO, CONTACT cannot be shown)