Success Story - 7 Years as a Self Taught Developer

I originally shared this story as a comment on Reddit, in reply to many developers worrying and wondering about the feasibility of actually becoming a successful self taught developer. Sadly, there was a fair bit of negativity and pessimism in the thread, especially with what was at the time a rougher job market. So I decided to share my story. Today, I open my inbox to none other than Quincy Larson asking me if it would be okay to share my story, and so here I am to share my story with the community.

I’m a self taught developer, currently making a 6 figure salary remotely as a UI Team Lead, about 7 years into my career. Was it hard? Hell yeah. I put in hard work and effort to get here. Is it worth it? Beyond a doubt.

I’ve worked bottom of the line jobs. I’ve done fast food, retail, call centers, hell I’ve taken care of people and wiped their behinds. I’ve been in very thankless jobs where every single minute of my day was micro managed. I’ve had to rely on food stamps to feed my family. I know what it’s like, and it sucks.

So it makes me a bit sad when I come on to these threads and see every response to the idea of teaching yourself being negative. I work from home, and hangout in my pajamas. I get to see and spend time with my family through the day, eat lunch and play with my kids.

I taught myself using free, online resources. I focused on making things, I’d get a curiosity, and I’d build it. DnD character sheets, name generators, simple games, and yeah some good old WordPress sites. I’d copy code from examples, line by line, tweaking each piece and trying to understand how it fit the whole.

And yes, my first developer pay 7 years ago was $16/hr at a small time WordPress company based out of a lady’s garage. It wasn’t fabulous, but it was a step up from wiping feces from the back of a 70 year old lady. I took what I learned there, and started freelancing in my spare time.