Success Story - How I Switched My Career Thanks to freeCodeCamp!

Hi, freeCodeCamp!

My name is Avi Mamenko and I’m a web developer. I wasn’t able to say that a few years ago but thanks to freeCodeCamp, I can. I’ve been working as a remote full-stack web developer for about a year now and I’m proud to say that I got my start here. Whether you’ve been a developer for years or today is your first day writing code - trust me, you’re in the right place.

One of my latest projects (The Owen Wilson Wow API) has generated some media buzz lately so Quincy Larson encouraged me to share a bit about my coding journey here with you.

Before getting my start in web development on this platform, I was on a totally different career path.

Background

I studied biochemistry in college. I received my bachelors of science in 2016 with multiple research positions and internships in water-related industries under my belt. I was subsequently employed as a scientist and chemist in the regulatory and utilities industries, respectively. These were “stable,” “safe” jobs that some of my coworkers were doing for upwards of 50 years.

Perhaps they found a sense of fulfillment in their roles. Maybe they were just comfortable. Unfortunately - or perhaps fortunately - I did not feel either of these sentiments. But I was stuck.

I already went through 4 years of college - accruing debt in the process - to get to where I was. At this point, I had multiple years of experience working in the industry. There was no visible out from here.

Maybe more schooling was the answer? I started taking additional mathematics classes at a local college after work to prepare for a chemical engineering masters degree - but was that even what I wanted?

Would I have to work in a job I didn’t like my entire life? Sure, I’d be able to retire and receive a pension after several decades - but what kind of life would that be if I wasn’t happy?