Suggest me the path, please

Hello everyone,

I am a 35 years old guy living in Italy. I used to work as an Administrative clerk until the last year. Since that job was quite dull, I decided to take a break and think of career change.

The last November I joined a free course of Java for totally beginners, but for how it was planned it has been a mess for almost all of the students. In just 240 hours we had to learn HTML, CSS, Javascript, Java, MySql, J2EE, MVC and Servlet, Java server pages, Custom tags and custom libraries, Java enterprise, Angular JS, Advanced Angular Js, Project management and Communication. We attended 8 hours a day, the teacher was explaining at the whiteboard almost all the time, we had so much stuff to learn everyday with no time to exercise at home (it was hard after 8 hours of confusing learning activities). It has been really overwhelming and most of us stopped following him after CSS. But at least, I can say that this course made me learn HTML quite well and achieved an intermediate level of CSS.

Now that this course has ended, I started looking for free learning sources and Free Code Camp helped me a lot to put order in my mind. I am still improving HTML and CSS.

But the point of this post is that I would like to turn this hobby into a job and since I am 35, I am scared to waste time learning programming and then companies might trash my applications because of my age.

So, I have a few questions for you all.

What is the path you recommend me to follow? I mean, considering my age and the need of getting a job as soon as possible, how could I speed up my learning process? I know it takes a long time to learn coding, but you know, I can not live without a job for such long time. What country should I move in to get more job opportunities, since Italy seems to be the wrong place for a programmer?

Thank you all for paying attention.