Translate freeCodeCamp into Russian

Hello!
My name is Aleksandra. and i’m a novice translator from Ukraine. My specialization - translate from English into Russian and Ukrainian. So… excuse me for my English:)
Can I translate your “freeCodeCamp” and use it as porfolio at Ukrainian freelance sites?
I will save all of your copyright.

As far as I know, the only existing translation of fCC is the Chinese one, freecodecamp.cn, which has… semi-official status? (Maybe @QuincyLarson can confirm?)

However, freecodecamp.cn isn’t just a translation — it’s a full-on fork of fCC. It’s based on an older version of the curriculum, with some of the content swapped out or localized. For example, there’s a “bullet screen” project, where you create a UI similar to some popular Chinese video sharing sites. Similarly, APIs that are blocked in China are swapped out for ones that aren’t.

Even assuming you want to create more of a traditional, one-to-one translation, that still won’t be elementary. None (or very little?) of the fCC codebase is internationalized, which is usually a required first step before translation. As for why this is required…

Simplified example

Repo: project/project
File: helloworld.js

alert('Hello, world!');

In order to translate this file, we need to:

• Fork the project
  • Translate the text directly inline (hoping that the translator fully understands things like escape sequences and markup…)

So now we also have…

• Repo: project/project-ru
  • File: helloworld.js
alert('Привет, мир!');

However, now the developers want to change the plain alert to a sweetalert, so the original file becomes:

const swal = require('sweetalert');

swal('Hello, world!');