Tribute Page Feedback and HTML/CSS questions

Hi, this is my first time posting so I hope I’m doing it right. I’m working on my tribute page and I’d like some general feedback as well the answer to some questions. I think the page looks okay, but I think my code looks like a mess. I struggled a lot with the code, specifically with CSS more than HTML. One thing I think I still don’t understand super well is how to center elements on the page. It felt like sometimes “text-align: center;” would work, but sometimes I’d adjust width or margins and then the picture would realign to the left. I also don’t fully understand the difference between ID and Class.

Here is the link to my page. https://codepen.io/6elijah6/full/GRjvKMW

Thank you!

ID pertains to one specific element. Classes can pertain to many.

So #img-div will style that one particular element with that ID while .img-div (note the # versus the . ) can style many elements. It will become clear after you practice a while.

Thank you. This makes it make more sense. I think I was getting tripped up by the # and . and assigning them incorrectly.

This does makes me wonder why would you ever opt for an ID over a class, even if you were only going to assign the class once? Are there any other differences between ID and class?

You could use a class just once if you wanted to. But if you intended it to only be applied to one element then using an ID would probably make your code and your intentions clearer. It’s good to write code as if someone else in the future will be looking at it. When you see an ID selector you know right away that the rules within are applied to one specific element. That’s useful information.

Welcome to the forums @elijahelz. Your page looks good. Some things to revisit;

• Keep the test script when forking the pen (<script src="https://cdn.freecodecamp.org/testable-projects-fcc/v1/bundle.js"></script>)